Library Header Image
LSE Research Online LSE Library Services

The basic structure of the devolution settlements

Dunleavy, Patrick ORCID: 0000-0002-2650-6398 and Diana, Stirvu (2018) The basic structure of the devolution settlements. In: Dunleavy, Patrick, Park, Alice and Taylor, Ros, (eds.) The UK's changing democracy: the 2018 democratic audit. Democratic Audit. LSE Press, London, UK, pp. 264-278. ISBN 9781909890466

[img] Text (the-uks-changing-democracy-19-chapter-56-the-basic-structure-of-the-devolution-s) - Published Version
Available under License Creative Commons Attribution Non-commercial No Derivatives.

Download (318kB)

Identification Number: 10.31389/book1.s


Devolution encompasses a range of quite different solutions in three countries (Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland), plus markedly smaller delegations of powers to London and some English cities and regions. There remain important issues around the stability and effectiveness of these arrangements, which were designed to meet specific demands for national or regional control and to bring government closer to citizens. Diana Stirbu and Patrick Dunleavy explore how far relations between Westminster and the key devolved institutions have been handled democratically and effectively.

Item Type: Book Section
Official URL:
Additional Information: © 2018 Democratic Audit and the individual authors © CC BY-NC-ND 4.0
Divisions: Government
Subjects: J Political Science > JN Political institutions (Europe) > JN101 Great Britain
Date Deposited: 20 Nov 2018 14:21
Last Modified: 16 May 2024 05:49

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item


Downloads per month over past year

View more statistics