Library Header Image
LSE Research Online LSE Library Services

The road to monetary union in East Africa

Adam, Christopher (2013) The road to monetary union in East Africa. International Growth Centre Blog (10 Dec 2013). Website.

Download (131kB) | Preview


On 30 November, the heads of state of the partner states of the East African Community (Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda) met in Kampala to approve the Protocol for the Establishment of an East African Monetary Union. The Protocol – the EAC equivalent of Europe’s Maastricht Treaty – offers a roadmap for monetary union and provides the enabling legislation for the regional institutions, including an East African central bank, which will usher in a single East African currency by 2024.[1]

Item Type: Online resource (Website)
Official URL:
Additional Information: © 2013 The Author(s)
Divisions: International Growth Centre
Subjects: H Social Sciences > HB Economic Theory
H Social Sciences > HF Commerce
H Social Sciences > HG Finance
J Political Science > JF Political institutions (General)
Date Deposited: 22 Jun 2017 11:28
Last Modified: 30 Sep 2021 23:19

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item


Downloads per month over past year

View more statistics