Cookies?
Library Header Image
LSE Research Online LSE Library Services

The numbers game: why everything you know about football is wrong

Anderson, Christopher Johannes and Sally, David (2014) The numbers game: why everything you know about football is wrong. Penguin, London, UK. ISBN 9780241963623

Full text not available from this repository.

Abstract

Football has always been a numbers game: 4-4-2, the big number 9 and 3 points for a win. But what if up until now we've been focusing on the wrong numbers? What if the numbers that really matter, the ones that hold the key to winning matches, are actually 2.66, 53.4, 50/50, and 0 > 1? What if managers only make a 15% difference? What if Chelsea should have bought Darren Bent? In this incisive, myth-busting book, Chris Anderson, former goalkeeper turned football statistics guru, and David Sally, former baseball pitcher turned behavioural economist, show that every shred of knowledge we can gather can help us to love football and understand it even more. You'll discover why stopping a goal is more valuable than scoring one, why corners should be taken short, and why it is better to improve your worst player than to buy a superstar. You'll never play, or watch, a game of football in quite the same way again. The Numbers Game is essential reading for football fans everywhere and will also appeal to readers who loved Moneyball and Freakonomics.

Item Type: Book
Official URL: https://www.penguin.co.uk/books/187604/the-numbers...
Additional Information: © 2014 The Authors
Divisions: European Institute
Subjects: G Geography. Anthropology. Recreation > GV Recreation Leisure
H Social Sciences > HA Statistics
Date Deposited: 11 Nov 2019 12:57
Last Modified: 19 Nov 2019 16:29
URI: http://eprints.lse.ac.uk/id/eprint/102470

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item